Ignite Award


The ITIP Ohio IGNITE Award recognizes educators who use technology to help "ignite the fire" in teachers or students. One IGNITE Award will be given away each year to the educator that does just that...IGNITES the fire...SPARKS creativity...and EXCITES learners to think outside the box through meaningful educational technology integration.

The award is open to all K-12 educators (administrators, specialists and classroom teachers) and is connected to the ISTE Making it Happen Award, which provides national recognition of educational technology leaders. The ITIP Ohio IGNITE Award will be presented at the Ohio Educational Technology Conference (OETC) in Columbus in February.

While nominations can touch on accomplishments that occur over the course of a nominee’s career, the primary focus of the nomination should be on the work and accomplishments that occurred during the current and prior school year.

Submission deadline is December 15, 2022

Application Questions:

  1. Why are you nominating this person? Please provide a brief statement about why the nominee deserves the ITIP Ohio IGNITE award (300 character limit - you may go into greater detail in the questions that follow).

  2. Describe how the nominee has utilized technology to IGNITE learning and foster success for students or teachers. Cite specific examples of excellence in which this individual has developed, adapted, adopted or incorporated technology to deepen student learning or improve teacher instruction.

  3. Leadership: How has the nominee inspired colleagues and the profession (beyond the nominee's classroom or district) in the effective, meaningful use of technology?

  4. Optional: Provide 1-2 artifacts that demonstrate how technology is used by the nominee to enhance teaching and/or learning. Artifacts may be videos, images, websites, descriptions, examples of student work, screencasts, narratives, quotes or any combination of these. A response to this item is optional but artifacts can be a powerful way to demonstrate the nominee's skill and creativity in using technology!

  5. Please attach a letter of support for the nominee from an administrator or a professional peer.

Award Includes:

  • ITIP Ohio Award

  • Free registration to the 2023 Ohio Educational Technology Conference (OETC)

  • Recognition at award ceremony at 2023 OETC

  • Free registration for the 2023 ITIP Ohio Summit Featuring Google for Education at Kalahari Conference Center, Sandusky, Ohio.

  • One year ISTE Membership, an ISTE award certificate and an ISTE "Making IT Happen" jacket

  • The winner of ITIP Ohio's award is also designated as the Ohio representative for the ISTE Making IT Happen award program.

If you have any questions, please contact ITIP Ohio at info@ITIPOhio.org